Public Affairs Calendar

Back to calendar

European Council
19 - 20 March 2015

Listing Image

The European Council is composed by the 28 EU Heads of State or Government and meets around 4 times a year. It is responsible for setting the EU political agenda at the highest level and does not participate, as opposed to the Council of the European Union, to the legislative process.

Special meetings can also be organized, such as in the event of a crisis or for institutional purposes. The European Council is chaired by a President, nominated for a one-time renewable term of two and a half year. Decisions are taken by consensus, unless in very defined cases.

The texts adopted by the European Council (its “Conclusions”) are usually a good barometer of the general direction taken by the EU governments on specific subjects, including the financial services policies.